FY 2017 Tax Facts

News & Politics

The present document can't read!
Please download to view
All materials on our website are shared by users. If you have any questions about copyright issues, please report us to resolve them. We are always happy to assist you.
  • Tax Facts! General Information About Fairfax County Taxes Effective July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017
  • What You Will Find  Tax Deadlines  Ways to Pay  Personal Property Tax  Vehicle Registration  Real Estate Tax  Tax Relief  Tax Relief for Vets With Disabilities  Tax Relief for Surviving Spouses of Members of Armed Forces Killed in Action  Business, Professional and Occupational License (BPOL)  Other Taxes and Fees  Penalties  The Budget: Where are your tax dollars going?
  • Deadlines  Personal Property – Report by May 1. – Pay by Oct. 5. (For vehicles bought or moved to the county on or after July 1, pay by Feb. 15 of the following year.)  Real Estate – First installment payment is due July 28. – Second installment payment is due Dec. 5.
  • Deadlines  Business, Professional & Occupational License (BPOL) – File and pay by March 1, or within 75 days for new business.  Tax Relief – File by April 1, or Dec. 31 of the following year for hardship or first-time filers.  Dog Licenses – Renew by Jan. 31.
  • Ways to Pay  Online (check or credit card) A service fee is charged for credit card payments.  Phone (credit card) at 703-222-6740, TTY 711. A service fee is charged for credit card payments.  Pay Personal Property Tax (only) with cash at Shoppers Food locations in Northern Virginia – pay exact amount due in cash at customer service desk; a $1.25 processing fee will be charged by Global Express for each bill paid. For additional participating vendors go to www.globalexpress.net, click on store locator. Continued  http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta http://www.globalexpress.net/
  • More Ways to Pay  Real estate and personal property (car) taxes can be paid at any of the following banks in Fairfax County only: – Bank of America: check or cash – SunTrust: check or cash *Click here for additional convenient payment methods. http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta/payinfo.htm
  • MyFairfax  MyFairfax is your home to conduct key online transactions with the county.  As the first step of this ongoing customer service initiative, you have direct access to – Personal Property (car) Tax – Business Personal Property Tax – Real Estate Tax  Register at www.fairfaxcounty.gov/myfairfax – View/pay bills and view payment history – Change mailing address – Perform vehicle registrations/updates http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/myfairfax
  • Personal Property Tax  Applies to cars, trucks, motor homes, motorcycles, trailers, campers, boats, outboard motors, planes and business personal property.  Tax applies if a vehicle is normally garaged/parked in the county, even if registered in another state.  Vehicles normally garaged in Fairfax County but displaying out-of-state license plates may be subject to an additional annual “No Plate” tax of $100 and penalty of $250. This amount is not prorated. In most cases, Virginia license plates must be obtained from DMV within 30 days of establishing residency. Continued 
  •  For most vehicles, personal property tax is based on the clean trade-in value in the National Automobile Dealers Association’s Used Car Guide published in January.  The personal property tax rate is $4.57 per $100 of assessed value.  Click here to download an appeal form. Continued  Personal Property Tax http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta/pdf_files/ppappeal.pdf
  •  If you have moved in or out of Fairfax County, or sold your car, your personal property bill will be calculated on a monthly basis.  New to Fairfax County? Bought or leased a car? You have 60 days to register your vehicles.  New to Virginia? New residents must follow the state’s title and registration deadline and requirements within 30 days. Personal Property Tax http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta/RegistrationPreface.htm http://www.dmv.state.va.us/vehicles/#titling.asp
  • Vehicle Registration  There is a $33 local vehicle registration fee ($38 for vehicles over 4,000 pounds). There is no county windshield decal to purchase or display.  Residents within the towns of Clifton and Herndon no longer need to display a decal. Payments for the town vehicle registration fees for Herndon and Clifton town residents will be billed on the Fairfax County tax bills. Continued  http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta/cartax_veh_reg_fee.htm
  • Vehicle Registration  Vienna town residents must pay a town vehicle registration fee directly with the town of Vienna.  Make sure your address and vehicle jurisdiction are correct with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles at www.dmvnow.com. http://www.dmvnow.com/
  • Real Estate Tax  A tax on the assessed value of real property and mobile homes based on 100 percent of the fair market value as of Jan. 1, 2016.  The 2016 (Fiscal Year 2017) base real estate tax rate is $1.13 per $100 of assessed value. Continued 
  • Real Estate Tax  Commercially zoned or used properties are subject to an additional $0.125 tax for the countywide transportation district.  Other tax rates or fees may apply. * Information on other special tax districts. http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta/realestatetax_taxrates.htm
  • Tax Relief  Property owners 65 or older, or individuals who are permanently and totally disabled, may qualify for relief from some taxes and fees based on income and assets.  Some active duty military personnel and spouses are exempt from personal property tax (see next slide for disabled veterans).  For more information on tax relief, visit our website or call 703-222-8234, TTY 711. http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta/taxrelief_home.htm
  • Tax Relief for Vets and Spouses  Veterans with permanent and total disabilities who qualify may be exempt from Real Estate Tax and eligible for reduced Personal Property (car) Tax relief.  Surviving spouses of U.S. Armed Forces members killed in action may be eligible for Real Estate Tax relief.  For more information, go to www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta. http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta
  • Business, Professional and Occupational License (BPOL) Businesses with gross receipts:  Between $10,001 and $50,000 must file a BPOL application and pay a $30 license fee.  Between $50,001 and $100,000 must pay a $50 license fee.  More than $100,000 must pay the BPOL tax rate for the particular categories.
  •  Businesses with gross receipts of $10,000 or less do not need to file for a business license.  License applications must be filed and paid by March 1 of each year or within 75 days of the business start date. Business, Professional and Occupational License (BPOL)
  •  Businesses located in the City of Fairfax, City of Falls Church and the towns of Clifton, Herndon and Vienna are not subject to the Fairfax County BPOL tax. Contact those localities directly.  However, businesses operating within the towns of Vienna, Clifton and Herndon need to file a Return of Business Personal Property and Machinery and Tools with Fairfax County. Business, Professional and Occupational License (BPOL)
  • Other Taxes and Fees  Consumer Utilities Taxes: • Residential gas and electric: Maximum tax is $4 per month. • Commercial electric: Maximum tax is $1,000 per month. • Commercial gas: Maximum tax is $300 per month.  Communication Sales and Use Tax: Statewide 5%. Communications Sales and Use Tax is levied on landline, wireless and Internet telephone services, as well as satellite TV and radio. Also included in this tax is a charge of $0.75 per line per month for E-911.  Sales Tax: State – 4.3%; regional transportation/NVTA 0.7%; Fairfax County – 1%.  Cigarette Tax: 30 cents per pack. Continued  Effective July 1, 2016: http://www.thenovaauthority.org/
  • Other Taxes and Fees  Hotel/Motel: 6%: 2% general; 2% tourism; 2% regional transportation/NVTA (Towns only 4%: 2% tourism; 2% regional transportation/NVTA. In addition, individual towns may also levy their own hotel/motel tax.)  Recordation: $.0833 per $100 value on sales. ($.06 per $100 on refinanced mortgages.)  Grantors Tax: County - $0.50 per $500 on value of deeds; Regional transportation/NVTA - $0.15 per $100 on value of deeds.  Dog Licenses: $10. Required for all dogs four months or older. http://www.thenovaauthority.org/ http://www.thenovaauthority.org/ http://www.thenovaauthority.org/
  • Penalties  Late filing penalties for the late registration of personal property.  Late payment penalties for any tax not paid by the prescribed due date. Interest is charged in addition to late penalties.  Overdue taxes are subject to collection actions and additional collection fees.
  • FY 2017 Budget General Fund  Click Links Below For Budget Charts: Where the Money Comes From… Where the Money Goes… http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dmb/fy2017/adopted/overview/08_where_from_pie_chart.pdf http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dmb/fy2017/adopted/overview/09_where_goes_pie_chart.pdf